skip navigation
Home Team Schedule News Fans #PlayMNBox Shop Community

2011 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse finalists announced

05/25/2011, 11:02am CDT
By mnswarm.com

Winners will be announced during an awards banquet on Sunday, June 5 at Saint Paul RiverCentre

SAINT PAUL, Minn. - The Minnesota Minute Men today announced the finalists for the second annual Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards presented by the Minnesota Swarm. The winners will be revealed during an awards banquet at 12 p.m. on Sunday, June 5 in the Grand Ballroom at Saint Paul RiverCentre.


The Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards are given to two outstanding senior high school lacrosse players in Minnesota and are selected by a panel of Minnesota lacrosse community members. A total of 14 boys and girls have been named finalists for the 2011 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse award.


Finalists for Mr. Lacrosse: Ben Alberts (Woodbury), Carson Cannon (Stillwater), Chase Fisher (Minnetonka), Mitch Hugdahl (Eden Prairie), Steven Kiesel (Breck), George Ordway (Blake), and Christian Rekow (Benilde-St. Margaret’s).


Finalists for Ms. Lacrosse: Hilary Crowe (Blake), Hannah Dickman (Stillwater), Hilary Duda (Minnetonka), Paige Jones (Edina), Abigail New (Holy Family Catholic), Sheridan Reiners (Bloomington Kennedy), Sammi Reiter (Stillwater).

The selection panel has also selected two boys and girls goalkeepers to determine the Mr. & Ms. Goalie of the Year award. Finalists for Mr. Goalie are Grant Dressen (Blake) and Nate Johnson (Maple Grove), and finalists for Ms. Goalie are Caroline Griffith (Breck) and Brooke Jones (Edina).


The 2011 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards banquet presented by the Minnesota Swarm in partnership with Dick’s Sporting Good’s is open to the entire lacrosse community as well as the general public. Tickets can be purchased for $30 online at minnesotaminutemen.com

Mr. Lacrosse Finalists (listed in alphabetical order)
#10 - Ben Alberts – Midfield – Woodbury

72 points (35g, 37a) and 121 ground balls in 13 games.

#21 - Carson Cannon – Defense – Stillwater

13 points (10g, 3a) and 42 ground balls in 12 games.

#40 - Chase Fisher – Midfield – Minnetonka

45 points (31g, 14a) and 18 ground balls in 13 games.

#10 - Mitch Hugdahl – Midfield - Eden Prairie

29 points (20g, 9a) and 23 ground balls in 11 games.

#15 - Steven Kiesel – Midfield – Breck

59 points (47g, 12a) and 163 ground balls in 13 games.

#  7 - George Ordway – Attack – Blake

74 points (39g, 35a) and 17 ground balls in 13 games.

#18 - Christian Rekow – Midfield – Benilde-St. Margaret’s

23 points (16g, 7a) and 15 ground balls in 13 games.

Mr. Goalie Finalists
#22 - Grant Dressen – Goalie – Blake

8-1 record, 5.51 GAA and a .652 SV% in 11 games.

#  1 - Nate Johnson – Goalie - Maple Grove

10-0 record, 4.35 GAA and a .633 SV% in 11 games.

Ms. Lacrosse Finalists (listed in alphabetical order)
#  7 - Hilary Crowe – Attack - Blake

63 points (40g, 23a) and 14 ground balls in 11 games.

#20 - Hannah Dickman – Attack - Stillwater

86 points (62g, 24a) and 23 ground balls in 13 games.

#19 - Hilary Duda – Attack- Minnetonka

74 points (46g, 28a) and 34 ground balls in 13 games.

#18 - Paige Jones – Attack - Edina

76 points (53g, 23a) and 18 ground balls in 12 games.

#  9 - Abigail New – Midfield - Holy Family Catholic

80 points (52g, 28a) in 13 games.

#16 - Sheridan Reiners - Attack - Bloomington Kennedy

65 points (57g, 8a) and 29 ground balls in 13 games.

#  3 - Sammi Reiter – Midfield - Stillwater

65 points (55g, 10a) and 28 ground balls in 12 games.

Ms. Goalie Finalists

#  0 - Caroline Griffith – Goalie - Breck

3-8 record, 10.91 GAA and a .688 SV% in 11 games.

#13 - Brooke Jones – Goalie - Edina

8-4 record, 10.07 GAA and a .630 SV% in 12 games.

Past Winners
2010: Mr. Lacrosse – Baily Dodds (Benilde-St. Margarets), Mr. Goalie – Lowell Fluke (Blake)

*2011 marks the first year Ms. Lacrosse and Ms. Goalie will be awarded


About The Minute Men

The Minute Men were organized in 1954 when the city, business, sports and civic leaders decided that in order to attract major league baseball, and football a stadium should be built in Bloomington, Minnesota. The purpose of the Minute Men is to assist and promote professional sports in the Twin Cities Area, to sell tickets, advertise and promote special events and to honor and pay tribute to individuals or teams, who through professional achievement have brought unusual and significant publicity to themselves and the citizens of the Twin Cities. The broadened scope of the Minute Men activities includes amateur sports and charitable donations to other worthy organizations.


Tag(s): Home  News Center  Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse