skip navigation
Home Team Schedule News Fans #PlayMNBox Shop Community

2014 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse Finalists

05/27/2014, 12:15pm CDT
By Alec Schimke

The Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards are presented by the Swarm

--Press Release via Minnesota Minute Men--

SAINT PAUL, Minn. - The Minnesota Minute Men announced the finalists for the fourth annual Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards presented by the Minnesota Swarm today. The winners will be revealed during an awards banquet at 12:00 p.m. on Sunday, June 15th at the Crowne Plaza Riverfront Hotel in Saint Paul.

The Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards are given to two outstanding senior high school lacrosse players in Minnesota and are selected by a panel of Minnesota lacrosse community members. A total of 14 boys and girls have been named finalists for the 2014 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse award.

Finalists for Mr. Lacrosse:  Max Elsenheimer (Eagan), Michael Lamb (Benilde St. Margaret), J.R. Riley (St. Thomas Academy), Sam Turner (Academy of Holy Angels), Charlie Venable (Eden Prairie), Carter Yepson (Rosemount) and Conner Yepson (Rosemount)

Finalists for Ms. Lacrosse: Sophie Buelow (Chanhassen), Sheila Hirsch, (Edina), Anna Johnson (Eden Prairie), Katie Larson (Apple Valley), Ali Ridge (Minnetonka), Anne Slusser (Blake) and Lydia Sutton (Blake),

The selection panel has also selected two boys and girls goalkeepers to determine the Mr. & Ms. Goalie of the Year award.

Finalists for Mr. Goalie are Max Fehey (Eden Prairie) and Aaron Wiederhoeft (Prior Lake) and finalists for Ms. Goalie are Oralee Hespenheide (Bloomington Jefferson), and Maddie Kohlbeck (Farmington).

The 2014 Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse awards banquet presented by the Minnesota Swarm is open to the entire lacrosse community as well as the general public. Tickets can be purchased for $35.00 online at Purchase tickets!.

Become a fan of the Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse Award on Facebook or follow the Mr. Lacrosse Award or Ms. Lacrosse Award on Twitter.

Past Winners:

2013: Mr. Lacrosse – Jake Woodring (Eden Prairie), Ms. Lacrosse – Emma Claire Fontenot (Eden Prairie), Mr. Goalie – Austin Dover (Edina), Ms. Goalie – McKenzie Johnson (Eden Prairie).

2012: Mr. Lacrosse – Jake Heppner (Eastview), Ms. Lacrosse – Christine Easton (Eden Prairie), Mr. Goalie – Thomas Gilligan (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Ms. Goalie – Bailey Dunning (The Blake School).

2011 Mr. Lacrosse – George Ordway (The Blake School), Ms. Lacrosse – Hillary Duda (Minnetonka), Mr. Goalie – Grant Dressen (The Blake School), Ms. Goalie – Brooke Jones (Edina).

2010: Mr. Lacrosse - Bailey Dodds (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Mr. Goalie - Lowell Fluke (The Blake School).

*2011 marked the first year of the Ms. Lacrosse Awards.

About The Minute Men

The Minute Men were organized in 1954 when the city, business, sports and civic leaders decided that in order to attract major league baseball and football a stadium should be built in Bloomington, Minnesota. The purpose of the Minute Men is to assist and promote professional sports in the Twin Cities Area, to sell tickets, advertise and promote special events and to honor and pay tribute to individuals or teams, who through professional achievement have brought unusual and significant publicity to themselves and the citizens of the Twin Cities. The broadened scope of the Minute Men activities includes amateur sports and charitable donations to other worthy organizations.

Tag(s): Home  News Center  Mr. & Ms. Lacrosse