skip navigation
Home Team Schedule News Fans #PlayMNBox Shop Community

Swarm set to rejoin East Division in 2014

10/23/2013, 12:30pm CDT
By Alec Schimke

Minnesota will return to the East Division this season; NLL expands playoff format

(New York, NY – October 23, 2013) The National Lacrosse League today formally announced a new and expanded playoff format along with division realignment, both set to begin with the upcoming 2014 NLL season.

The league will reduce the number of teams who qualify for the playoffs from eight to six teams, featuring the top three clubs in each division's standings. The two regular season division champions will earn a first-round bye as top seeds. The second seed will host the third seed in their respective division for the single-game elimination Division Semifinal in the first round.

New to the postseason format, the Division Finals and Championship both expand to a two-game series from the previous single-game elimination setup. The top seed from each division will play the winner of the Division Semifinal game between the second and third seeds, with the lower-seeded team hosting the first game and the higher seed hosting the second game of the series.

Teams who win both games shall win the two-game series. In the event of a series split with both teams winning one game, a 10-minute tiebreaker game will be played immediately following the conclusion of the second contest to determine the winner of the playoff series.

Coinciding with the new postseason format, the league's divisions will realign this season as the Minnesota Swarm join the Buffalo Bandits, Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks and Toronto Rock in the new five-team East Division. The four-team West Division will be comprised of the Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Edmonton Rush and Vancouver Stealth.

"We are excited to return to the East Division after playing in the West for the last five years," Swarm Owner and Governor John Arlotta said. "For our fans, we will be renewing rivalries from the early days of the Swarm while still playing teams from the West that they will easily recognize from recent years." 

Arlotta also added, "Many of our players currently live in the Toronto area or grew up there so not only will our travel costs be reduced, but our players will also be playing in front of friends and family more often. I want to thank the other team owners and governors for supporting our return to the East.  We really appreciate the opportunity to return to our roots and our original rivalries."

The new playoff format was made official when the league recently reached an accord with the Professional Lacrosse Players’ Association for a new seven-year Collective Bargaining Agreement through the 2020 NLL season. The 2014 NLL regular season begins on Saturday, Dec. 28.

The Minnesota Swarm will open their 10th season of professional box lacrosse in the NLL on the road against the defending NLL champion Rochester Knighthawks at 6:30 p.m. CT on Saturday, Dec. 28.

The Swarm will make their home debut at The Hive on Sunday, Jan. 19 for a 2 p.m. matchup against the Philadelphia Wings at Xcel Energy Center. Swarm Season Tickets start as low as $19 per game and can be purchased by calling 1-888-667-9276 or visiting www.mnswarm.com

Tag(s): Home  News Center