skip navigation
Home Team Schedule News Fans #PlayMNBox Shop Community

NLL expands to 18-game schedule in 2014

03/15/2013, 2:00pm CDT
By mnswarm.com

Two additional games will be added to the Swarm' schedule in 2014

SAINT PAUL, Minn. - The National Lacrosse League has announced that as part of a comprehensive strategic plan, the league’s Board of Governors have voted to increase the length of the regular season from 16 to 18 games for the 2014 NLL season.  The comprehensive strategic plan includes findings from a recent survey conducted of NLL fans throughout North America.  Among the survey’s findings was a desire by the fans for additional regular season games.   

“By expanding the season to 18 games, the Board of Governors and the league have taken action to meet the demands of our fans,” said NLL Commissioner George Daniel. “We look forward to providing more of the games that our fans love to watch while creating more opportunities for new fans to come and enjoy the NLL experience and the world’s greatest lacrosse players.”

The league’s current 16-game regular season schedule format has been in place since the 2002 season.  The 2014 regular season schedule is due to be released in September.

2014 Swarm Season Ticket Packages will be introduced at the end of March. All Season Ticket Packages will include nine regular season games as well as one home playoff game. Fans will still be able to purchase Season Tickets at the current Buy 2, Get 2 at 50% offer.

“This is exciting news -- our fans have been asking for more games, and the league has responded,” Swarm Co-Owner and Vice President Andy Arlotta said. “By expanding the season, it gives our fans more to look forward to and another opportunity to come out to The Hive and be a part of the Swarm.”

About the National Lacrosse League

The National Lacrosse League (NLL) is North America's professional indoor lacrosse league, featuring the best lacrosse players in the world. Founded in 1987, the league opened its 27th season on January 5, 2013. Average game attendance is over 9,500 fans per game. The NLL is comprised of nine franchises in the U.S. & Canada: Buffalo Bandits, Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Edmonton Rush, Minnesota Swarm, Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks, Toronto Rock and Washington Stealth. NLL games are televised on CBS Sports Network and on YouTube. For more information, visit NLL.com.

Tag(s): Home  News Center