skip navigation
Home Experience Team Schedule Fan Center Community MN Lacrosse Shop

No. 7: Four of a Kind

No. 7: Four of a Kind

After garnering the nickname "Young Guns" during the 2012 season, the Swarm added more youth in 2013, and did so in historic fashion.

Minnesota became the first team in NLL history to select three of the draft’s Top 4 picks in the 2012 NLL Entry Draft, picking T Brock Sorensen (No. 2, Ohio State), T Kiel Matisz (No. 3, Robert Morris) and F Shayne Jackson (No. 4, Limestone) consecutively. The Swarm didn’t stop there, however, selecting D Alex Crepinsek (No. 10) out of RIT with the last selection in the first-round.

Matisz and Jackson became two of the Swarm’s most potent scorers; Jackson broke the team's rookie point record (63) and Matisz notched the most goals by a Swarm rookie (29). Both Matisz and Jackson were named to the 2013 NLL All-Rookie team after strong first-year campaigns.

Sorensen and Crepinsek on the other hand, made their presence primarily felt on the defensive end, and were key components to the Swarm's penality kill unit toward the end of the season. The two also provided sparks in transition, and combined for nine goals in the regular season.